Wednesday, March 13, 2013

States where Jains are declared as Religious Minority

List of States where Jains have been declared as Religious Minority Community:

1.      Maharshtra
2.      Karnataka
3.      Madhya Pradesh
4.      Rajasthan*
5.      Uttar Pradesh
6.      Chhattis Garh
7.      Jhar Khand
8.      Delhi
9.      Uttaranchal
10.  West Bengal
11.  Andhra Pradesh
12.  Haryana
13.  Punjab
14.  Himachal Pradesh

Please note that 84% of total Jains in India reside in the 14 states listed above.
* There are some problems in Rajasthan in applying the status
Pending Consideration
Following states yet have not given Minority Status to Jains even after continuous demand by Jain community:
1.      Tamil Nadu
2.      Gujarat
3.      Kerala
4.      Assam
5.      Jammu and Kashmir
6.      Bihar
7.      Goa
8.      Orissa
States and Territories where Jains are Micro-Minority
Following States have a very less population of Jains when compared to all above states, so there is no demand from Jain community for Minority Status.
1.      Sikkim
2.      Manipur
3.      Naga Land
4.      Arunachal Pradesh
5.      Pondicherry
6.      Andaman & Nikobar
7.      Meghalaya
8.      Mizoram
9.      Tripura

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts